Digital Diatribes

A presentation of data on climate and other stuff

The mid-month lull…

Posted by The Diatribe Guy on October 18, 2008

For those of you who continue to check in to see if there are any additional updates on the data analysis front, I’m sorry to disappoint.

It would help if I didn’t have about a dozen completely unrelated interests and irons in the fire (seven kids is a big enough iron!) but please be patient.

My quick reports are as follows:
1) NCDC anomaly was recently released and it is very close to the projected anomaly from my model. I post on that and update the future predicted anomalies.
2) Unfortunatley, I still haven’t dug into the HadCrut projection model as I wanted to do, but hopefully I can get to that this week.
3) I still would like to get a projection analysis on RSS temps by region put together
4) I’ve decided to forego additional commentary on my GISS post. The charts are the main deal anyway.
5) A reader sent me a spreadsheet on more solar analysis that I would like to get to this week. Depending on what I see, I may suggest a collaborative post on the subject, but we’ll see.

Completely unrelated to global warming, I need to:
a) do the bills!
b) give my kids a piano lesson…
c) spend some time on my Fantasy Football teams, because I really am sucking this year and I’ve done nothing to upgrade my teams…
d) update my football scores projection model that predicts games against the spreads (purely for entertainment purposes, of course)
e) start working on my next CD…
f) be a Dad…
g) be a husband…
h) take advantage of stock opportunities in this volatile market…

Problem is, there isn’t enough time in a day to pursue all these things. So, occasionally, this global warming thing takes a short breather to allow me to get caught up in some other areas. That’s what is happening now.

There’s also this post I’ve been contemplating: a layperson’s guide to the current mortgage and financial crisis. There’s a lot of misconception out there, and a lot of oversimplification out there on what has happened. Both parties blame each other, then they blame Wall Street greed, then Congress deflects blame elsewhere, regulation (or lack of it) gets blamed, and anyone who suggests that consumers play a part in the whole deal are labeled racist by the very guy who took kickbacks from Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac. The truth is, this is a perfect storm of a confluence of multiple factors, some of which were years in the making and some of which were not. These factors include everything from demographics to relaxing of regulations to Congressional direction to market forces to overindulgence and more. No single factor caused it, and yet every factor played a part. The speed in which everything unraveled was dramatic, but it was a long time coming.

I may or may not ever get to that, but I at least wanted to throw out the general thought. Our politicians have done us no favors whatever in actually giving us a full understanding of this whole mess. They pick their pet issue, such as a relaxation of regulation, and use it to make a case for more regulation, while ignoring the multitude of other factors involved.

Anyway, just wanted to give a little shout out. I’ll see you soon.

Leave a Reply

 
