Digital Diatribes

A presentation of data on climate and other stuff

Patience…

Posted by The Diatribe Guy on January 15, 2009

Things are kind of hawire at the moment with my schedule, both at work and away from work. New temperature charts will be forthcoming, and hopefully a couple other things. In the meantime, check out this excellent post by Jeff at “The Air Vent.” He referenced it in a comment, but it is worth another mention here.

In my trend analyses, I just use the data as it is provided. I realize, along with my readers, that there are limitations in the data. But it is what the world sees, so I choose to spend my time looking at the trends in the data set. Guys like Jeff and Steve McIntyre aren’t satisfied with that, and thankfully do us the service of looking into the credibility of the data itself in a multitude of ways. This latest post is another nice tool of putting the data sets into their proper context.

In the meantime, I’ll just point out that UAH data is out, and it dipped from previous month. GISS also is out and dipped below 50 again. Neither NCDC nor HadCrut are out yet (no surprise… they usually lag). Sea Ice is flirting with the second-highest level since 2002. The PDO index actually was warmer than -1.0 anomaly for the first time in seven months, though it’s still -0.87.

My to-do list keeps growing for the blog. Unfortunately, my to-do list is growing in all areas at the moment, so I will get the the analysis as soon as I can.

In the meantime, it’s -20 Fahrenheit tonight. Yay.

Leave a Reply

 
