Digital Diatribes

A presentation of data on climate and other stuff

What’s Going on?

Posted by The Diatribe Guy on February 23, 2009

Yes, loyal climate change and temperature analysis addicts, I am still here.

Let me explain why there has been a lull. I am hoping (really!) to get to some things this week that will update a lot of the stuff I look at before the month ends. So don’t lose hope and keep checking.

Over the last couple weeks, I have been very busy with work, which unfortunately, pays infinitely more bills than this blog does. So, when work obligations increase, blogging must decrease for the sake of food, clothing, and shelter. In addition, it just so happened that there was a confluence of meetings and obligations among the few outside organizations/programs I am involved with, so even my personal time has been quite affected.

And, admittedly, I have filled the remaining time with another endeavor that has involved a huge learning curve, and has successfully driven my wife bonkers.

I am just like the rest of you – seeing my 401(k) drop to a 201(k). And while, under the theory that it will rebound by the time I need to retire in 20-25 years or so, I continue to faithfully contribute to what seems at the moment to be a losing cause, I have decided to not just sit around and do nothing with my money. I have really been taking my time to study some of the other markets, and have opened up a demo account on the foreign exchange markets. Yes, the risks are great. Depending on what you read, anywhere from 75% to 95% of all traders in the market end up losing money. Based on what I have read, the successful traders seem to have the ability to develop and stick with a system, accept bad trades, never get into a gambler’s mentality, and obviously just practice and learn the markets. So, my plan is long term and to use demo accounts to learn the actual trading. In the meantime, I have been learning the trading platform, trying to understand the lingo, getting a full understanding of what the optimal amount to risk at any one time is and just what to look for, etc. This has taken up all my time recently as I try to get a foothold in this market.

I only share this to let you all know (1) why I dropped the stock experiment. That money will go to this. And, quite honestly, right now as risky as the Forex market may be, I don’t really see it as any more risky than the stock market, and (2) just to let you know that, while I’m trying to juggle my priorities, I have not forgotten about you and will be working on some things very soon.

Thanks for continuing to check in.

2 Responses to “What’s Going on?”

  1. docattheautopsy said

    We haven’t forgotten you, either!

    I’ve been in a similar crunch at work. But Spring Break is here, and I get to get stressed out about that now! Yippee!

  2. The Diatribe Guy said

    Thanks, Doc. Seriously, I expect to get back into the swing of things here one of these days. Just when I think I’ll get some time freed up, it gets sucked away.

    Part of the problem is that I have too many interests.

Leave a Reply

 
